Forgiveness Challenge Day 2: The Science of Forgiveness

The Findings

As modern forgiveness research evolves, the findings clearly show that forgiving transforms people mentally, emotionally, spiritually and even physically. There are psychological benefits to forgiving (reduced depression, decreased anger, increased self-confidence) but there are also very real and concrete physical benefits.

People who are more forgiving report fewer health problems and fewer physical symptoms of stress. When you hang on to anger and resentment and live in a constant state of stress, you increase your risk of heart disease, high blood pressure, insomnia, anxiety, and so many other chronic stress-related illnesses.

Unforgiving: Hate and Resentment

When I’m unforgiving I feel hot, start to sweat, and my entire body tightens up.  I get real defensive and talk loud.  it’s not a peaceful feeling. I erupt into the Tasmanian Devil. This is followed by regret and remorse. It’s a disgusting sight.

guiltynipple.deviantart.com

Forgiving: Love and Light

When I forgive I let go and float. Freedom. I connect with all that is good. I feel better and actually act like a real person.

Forgiveness Challenge 

Leave a Reply

