Teaching the power of I AM

Have you ever sat in a classroom and thought to yourself, “I’m not smart?” How many times during your developmental years, and into adulthood, have you repeated the I am not mentality? By repeating the phrase “I am not” we set our intents, and over time,  “I am not” becomes our core defining self-concept. To help learners reach the highest aspect of themselves, we need to first teach how to break the lifelong habit of “I am”.

When we teach learners to consistently use the words I am, they define who they are and what they are capable of. Begin by asking learners to change their classroom (and online) dialogue by asking everyone to begin their inner and outer dialogue with”I am”. Create an activity where learners notice their inner dialogue, and change the words that define their self-concept from negative to positive.  Participants reword their inner world by choosing and placing positive words into their  imaginations.  This is the first step in helping learners tap into the assistance of their higher selves and fulfilling their  desires.  Dwayne Dyer sums up the power of I am:

Instead of I am incapable of getting a job, shift to I am capable. Similarly, replace proclamations of I am not able to live in peace with I am peace. I am unlucky in love is replaced by I am love. I am unworthy of happiness becomes I am happiness. The words I am, which you consistently use to define who you are and what you are capable of… Teach your outer self to accept the unlimited power of your inner spirit and the things you place in your imagination can become true for you.

Leave a Reply

