Learning to stop needless mental distractions and focus on what is important.

image by deeplifequotes

According to a new study published in Psychological Science, a journal of the Association for Psychological Science, our emotional responses to the stresses of daily life may predict our long-term mental health. One of the most important life lessons, for me, is to learn not to react immediately to stressful situations and make impetuous decisions.  Often my initial thoughts and reaction is negative. I get so emotional I’m unable to concentrate on what I’m doing. When I dwell on negative thoughts or or past events, I only get more upset. It’s human nature. When I learn to observe my thoughts I stop needless mental distractions and focus on what is important. 

How are you teaching learners the importance of reacting to stressful situations by observing their thoughts as they come and go, and by watching rather than reacting? The Internet provides instant access to all kinds of stressful situations as they occur. As events unfold, related to whatever subject you teach, you can create just in time problem based case studies, where learners observe their thoughts as they focus on solutions. Of course this will not work if your intent is follow a rigid schedule of covering content aligned to the textbook chapters.

 

 

Leave a Reply

