Is it worth doing?

image by deeplifequotes

To do anything worth doing, I must reject the false scenarios I play out in my head, go for it, and work through the struggles as best as I can. This is my daily learning process.  It’s not even a close to how I have taught and learned in traditional structured learning environments.

NSA whistleblower Edward Snowden, in his interview with the Guardian, explains his reasoning for what he did, “I understand that I will be made to suffer for my actions,” but “I will be satisfied if the federation of secret law, unequal pardon and irresistible executive powers that rule the world that I love are revealed even for an instant.”

It doesn’t matter what your views are on this subject. This “real life” example is an opportunity for learners to explore how someone is following their inner voice, to be more than they thought they could be, despite what others think and say. What a great teaching moment this can be if you are willing to make this connection.

Are you creating learning opportunities to help students do what they feel is worth doing?Are you guiding them through the process as they struggle? Are you open to letting learners be vulnerable in a way that leads to connections and embracing fear (Godin)?

Leave a Reply

